August 1st Again?

I am already feeling that summer crunch where I am trying to hold on to those lazy 2 hour coffees in the morning while I read whatever I want, but for some reason when that calendar page turns to August that familiar feeling of needing to organize my school year comes back.

This year I have the opportunity to move into a principal’s position at the elementary school where I have worked for 3 years.  I have long anticipated this moment and have spent many moments since accepting the position moving from excitement to panic.  I have been lucky enough to work with and learn from many good administrators in my career and I am hoping that I can put some of those things into my practice while still giving it my personal flare.

One of my goals this summer was to increase my personal learning network.  I am very passionate about technology and especially meeting the needs of our students through the use of technology in our schools.  I am also interested in being able to walk my talk as much as I can.  I am trying to become an active twitter participant.  Until this summer I have stood on the cliff, afraid to jump off, just observing all of the collaboration and learning happening around me.  I no longer want to observe, I want to participate.  I now have diigo on my computer and love it, I have been trying to participate with my Facebook connections in a more meaningful way, I have been trying to make full use of my I-phone as an interactive, collaborative, organizational tool, rather than just a talking and texting machine and I am trying to jump into the twitter world.

I am hoping that through my PLN I will be able to continue to learn and gain ideas and support that will help my in my new position.

As I was looking through some blog posts this morning I came across two that caught my learning eye. One was a post written my Dean Shareski on July 12 titled, ” What ways has leadership empowered you to become a better teacher?” and the other was a post written by Brian Crosby on his Learning is Messy blog, titled “What do teachers need from administrators?”.  That is exactly where my head is right now.

What do my teachers need from me?

Interestingly enough as I was reading some of the comments written on these posts I found this quote,  “If you always do what you’ve always done then you’ll always get what you’ve always got!” I couldn’t help by think that this would be a good place to start.  If I can show my teachers that I am willing to learn new things and change the way I am doing things, than maybe I will be one step closer to supporting them in making the changes they need and desire.

Can’t be a bad place to start I guess!

Leave a Reply

